top of page

The Indie Update - 11/14/2018

Hey all! It's Maria and I've got a great group of artists from around the indie genre that I've been into this week. Check it out!

Rock - Interpol

Interpol was forrmedin 1997 in New York. The band has changed members a few times, but the current members are: Paul Banks (lead vocals, guitar, bass), Daniel Kessler (lead guitar, vocals), and Sam Fogarino (drums, percussion). The band released their debut album, Turn on the Bright Lights, in 2002. The album contained their 3 singles: “PDA”. “NYC”, and “Specialist”. They released their next album, Antics, in September 2004. The songs “Slow Hands”, “Evil”, and “C’mere” topped charts in both the UK and the US. Interpol just released their 6th studio album, Marauder, in August 2018. There were 3 singles released on this album: “The Rover”, “Number 10”, and “If You Really Love Nothing”.

Folk - Joanna Newsom

Joanna Newsom began writing and producing her own music in 2002. Her debut album, The Milk-Eyed Mender, was released in 2004 and contained the single “Sprout and the Bean”. She has released 3 additional studio albums: Ys (2006), Have One on Me (2010), and Divers (2015). Divers featured the song “Leaving the City”, which she performed on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. In addition to performing her music, Joanna has been making appearances in various movies and TV shows. Her most recent appearance was as the Steam Punk Doctor in the 2016 film Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping.

Pop - Bjork

In her 40-year career, Bjork has done it all. She has released 10 studio albums (the most recent album, Utopia, released in November 2017) and she has appeared in 6 films. Her most notable role was as Selma Jezkova in Dancer in the Dark (2000). She received almost 2 dozen awards and nominations for both her performance and her contribution to the soundtrack. Additionally, Bjork’s music has made 12 soundtrack appearances. Bjork was on the Utopia tour until mid-summer 2018.

R&B - The Internet

Syd the Kyd and Matt Martians formed The Internet in 2011 and released their debut album, Purple Naked Ladies, later that year. Purple Naked Ladies featured the singles “Love Song -1”, “They Say”, “Cocaine”, and “Fastlane”. Shortly after the release of their 2nd album, Feel Good (2013), The Internet was backing Mac Miller to promote his new album, Watching Movies With the Sound Off. They just released their 4th studio album, Hive Mind, in July 2018. Hive Mind features the singles “Roll”, “Come Over”, and “La Di Da”.

Electronic - Passion Pit

Hailing from Massachusetts, Passion Pit was formed in 2007 by Michael Angelakos (lead vocals, keyboards), Chris Hartz (drums), Aaron Harrison Folb (bass, synthesizers), Giuliano Pizzulo (guitar, synthesizers), and Ray Suen (guitar, synthesizers). Passion Pit released their first studio album, Manners, in 2009, which featured the singles “The Reeling”, “To Kingdom Come”, and “Little Secrets”. The band just released their 4th studio album, Tremendous Sea of Love in July 2017. The album is best known for “Hey K”, “Somewhere Up There”, and “I’m Perfect”. There are whispers of another album in the works, however no release date has been announced.

Stay tuned next week to see what I've been listening to from around the Indie genre!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page