top of page

The Indie Update - 1/30/19

Rock - Hippo Campus

The members of Hippo Campus, Jake Luppen (vocals/guitar), Nathan Stocker (guitar/vocals), Zach Sutton (bass), and Whistler Isaiah Allen (drums/vocals), all met at the Saint Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists in 2013. They were quickly joined by trumpeter DeCarlo Jackson and produced their first EP, Bashful Creatures (2014). The EP featured their 2 singles, “Little Grace” and “Suicide Saturday”. Just one year late, their song “Halocline” was used as the finale on the series Falling Skies. Later that year, they were on tours with several bands, such as Modest Mouse, Walk the Moon, and Rubblebucket. In the 6 years since Hippo Campus was formed, they have released 4 EPs and 2 studio albums. Their most recent album, Bambi, was released in September 2018, and they are currently on tour for the album.

Folk - Ingrid Michaelson

Ingrid Michaelson began her music career in 2005 when she released her first album, Slow the Rain. The album included her first 2 singles, “Porcelain Fists” and “Around You”. Slow the Rain also featured a cover of the 1924 song “I’ll See You in My Dreams”. Not only has she released 7 other albums, but she is also trying to launch her career on the silver screen. She made her film debut in the 2018 movie Humor Me as Allison. Michaelson also temporarily played the role of Sonya Rostova in the 2017 Broadway musical Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812.

Pop - Calum Scott

Britain’s Got Talent was a large stepping stone in Calum Scott’s music career. Prior to competing on the show in 2015, Scott was in a Maroon 5 tribute band, Maroon 4, and formed his own band, Experiment with John McIntyre. Maroon 4 is still together, but Experiment with John McIntyre broke up in 2014 shortly after their debut single, “Girl (You’re Beautiful)” was released. Competing on Britain’s Got Talent gave him the publicity he needed to release his cover of “Dancing on My Own”, which became a success overnight. His 2018 album, Only Human, features “Dancing on My Own”, in addition to “Rhythm Inside”, You Are the Reason (with Leona Lewis)”, “What I Miss Most”, and “No Matter What”.

R&B - Nao

Hailing from England, Neo Jessica Joshua (Nao) released her first EP, So Good, in 2004. The EP hit number 4 on iTunes electronic chart. About 6 months later, she released her second EP, 15 February. She was nominated for Best Newcomer at the 2015 MOBO Awards. In 2016, Nao released her debut studio album, For All We Know. Her first album topped charts in 6 countries, including the UK and US. Her second album, Saturn (2018) also topped charts in the UK and US. Her single “Make It Out Alive” on Saturn reached 30 on US charts. Along with singing, Nao is credited with writing “Be Alright” for Ariana Grande, “Velvet/Jenny Francis (Interlude)” for Stormzy, “Nothing Else!” for Mura Masa, and “Till the World Falls” for Nile Rodgers & Chic.

Electronic - AJR

The Met brothers, Adam, Jack, and Ryan formed their band AJR in 2005. They began producing their own music out of the living room of their apartment in NYC. They have released 5 EPs and 3 studio albums together. They plan to release their next album, Neotheater, in early 2019. Their most popular singles are: “Sober Up (ft. Rivers Cuomo)”, “Weak”, “Burn the House Down”, and “I’m Ready”. They have opened for 10 other artists, including Fitz & The Tantrums and Lindsey Stirling. They also produced “Medicine for Melancholy” for Rivers Cuomo.

21 views0 comments
bottom of page